Questions go unanswered

I have been googling social media use to connect parents and teachers, and a lot has shown up. There are tons of articles on the benefits of social media use to connect parents and teachers. There are also resources that show what types of tools to use to connect parents and different ideas to get them involved. Upon reading all of these articles, I got really excited to see that some teachers are already connecting with social media, and then I became disappointed because I felt that maybe my project was useless if social media is already a communication tool for parents and teachers. Pushing my disappointment aside, I looked back at my questions and realized that none of the articles are answering the “how can we work with parents that don’t have access to social media?” question. I feel that this question may become my focus within this project. I am really interested specifically in schools in low income area where the students as well as the parents may not have home access to computers and technology. These situations may be the most vital to have parent/teacher communication to ensure that the child is getting the best education possible with the resources. I want to focus on the changes that can be made to help the teacher communicate with these parents that may be single parent homes, working multiple jobs, and have little time to devote to connect with the teacher. I don’t think that there will be a quick fix to a situation like this, but I want to look into the possible changes that could be made to make communication better and more efficient between the parent and teacher within low income/lack of resources situations.

 

Here’s some links to the articles that I was talking about in the beginning:

http://www.edutopia.org/blog/workshops-helping-parents-embrace-social-media

http://www.weareteachers.com/community/blogs/weareteachersblog/blog-wat/2013/07/31/engaging-parents-with-social-media-the-3-cs-of-success

Leave a Reply

